State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  Zero Tolerance                                             
 

     

Zero Tolerance

Effective November 8, 1996, the "ZERO TOLERANCE" law took a strong stand against underage drinking and driving. If you are between the ages of 14 and 21 you cannot drive or operate a motor vehicle, watercraft, or aircraft after consuming ANY alcohol. You can be cited or arrested for driving or operating a motor vehicle after consuming any quantity of alcohol.

If you break this law:

  • A law enforcement officer can ask you to take a breath or blood test to find out if you have consumed alcohol.
  • Refusing to take a chemical test is against the law.
  • You face criminal prosecution and administrative license action.
  • A citation will be issued and you will have to go to court.
  • You may not operate any type of motor vehicle for 24 hours.
  • The Division of Motor Vehicles must revoke your driver's license, learner's permit, or privilege to obtain a license.

How long can my license be revoked?

The revocation period for minor operating a vehicle after consuming alcohol are:

  • 30 days for the first revocation
  • 60 days for the second revocation
  • 90 days for the third revocation
  • 1 year for the fourth and subsequent revocation

Following are some commonly asked questions and answers about the Under 21 violations.

If I am given a notice of revocation, what happens?

The Division of Motor Vehicles must revoke your privilege to drive.

How do I get my license back?

What steps you must take to get your privilege to drive back depends on how many times you have broken the law.  Reinstatement Procedures

Do I have to be convicted in a court of law for the license revocation to occur?

No. The revocation is an administrative action. The revocation goes into effect on the 11th day after the notice of revocation notice is issued by an officer. The revocation is in addition to any action taken by the court system.

Will these laws affect me if I do not have a driver's license?

Yes. These laws take away your privilege to drive. It means you lose your license or permit if you have one. It means you cannot apply to get a license or permit if you don’t have one. It also means you cannot drive using a license from another state. You cannot get your privilege to drive back until the end of your revocation period.

Can the revocation be appealed?

Yes. You have the right to ask for an administrative hearing to contest the revocation of your privilege to drive. If you have a license or permit and you make your request within ten days, a temporary license will be issued for you to use until the date of the hearing.

Can I drive if my parents are in the car with me?

No. You may not drive in Alaska under any circumstances, including using a driver's license from another state. You cannot drive until you satisfy all requirements and get a new license.

Is there anything I can do to reduce the amount of time of the revocation?

No.