State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Division Of Motor Vehicles

Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  Request for Termination of License Revocation                                             
 

     

Request for Termination of License Revocation

Non-Felony | Felony

Non-Felony Termination of Revocation

On July 1, 1993, a law went into effect that allows people whose driver's licenses were revoked before that date to apply for a review of their driving records to see if they can get their revocation terminated. This law only applies to people with three or more revocations for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Refusal to Take a Breath Test (Refusal) or a chemical test result of .10 or more.

If a person was convicted of DWI or Refusal, their driver's license was probably revoked by both the court in a court case and by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in an administrative action. Because of this, to obtain a new driver's license, they will have to get both the court and DMV to terminate the revocations. The steps they will need to take are listed below.

Procedure

1.  Complete an application for termination of revocation (Form # 402) and send it to the attention of: Anchorage Driver Licensing (ADL). The bottom half of the form has to be filled in and signed by an authorized person at a local Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) office. If there is no ASAP office in the person's area they will need to have it signed by a State approved alcohol counseling agency.

2.  Once the application is received by ADL they will check to make sure:

  • The application is complete and all the required documents have been submitted.
  • The person has completed an approved alcohol education and rehabilitation treatment program.
  • The license has been revoked for the shortest amount of time required by the new law. The minimum revocation periods are:

90 days - First offense
1 year - Second offense
3 years - Third offense
5 years - Fourth or subsequent offense

  • The  license has not been revoked for more time because of other license actions
  • Most revocations run consecutive (one after the other), not concurrent (at the same time). This means if the court did not order a revocation to run concurrent, each action will follow the other.

3.  Once DMV verifies that an applicant has done everything they need to comply with the law, DMV will review the driving record and determine if any of the revocations can be modified. The DMV will send the person a document that they will have to provide to the court. The court will have to sign the form showing it agrees with the DMV’s review of the driving record.  Convictions in multiple courts will require a sign off from each court.  

4.  If the court agrees with DMV, the applicant should send the decision signed by the court to:

State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn:  DRIVER LICENSING
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 100
Anchorage, AK 99503-3689

DMV will then change their computer records to show the new revocation dates. The DMV has up to 14 days to process terminations of revocations.

5.  Once the driving record has been changed, the DMV will then send the person a letter telling them what they will need to do to reinstate their driving privileges.
If you have further questions, please call Anchorage Driver Licensing at (907) 269-3770 or via

E-mail:  DOA.DMV.ADL@Alaska.gov
 
Felony Termination of Revocation

On July 1, 2002, the legislature enacted laws allowing a driver whose privilege to drive was revoked permanently following a conviction for felony driving under the Influence (DUI) or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Testing (Refusal) to apply for a termination of revocation.  This law only applies to drivers convicted on or after July 1, 2002 under AS 28.35.030 (n) or AS 28.35.032 (p).  To be eligible for a felony termination of revocation you must have served at least 10 years of the revocation period and you have not been convicted of a criminal offense since your license was revoked.

Termination Procedure

1.  Complete an application for felony termination of revocation (Form # 403) and send it to the attention of: Anchorage Driver Licensing (ADL). The bottom half of the form has to be filled in and signed by an authorized person at a local Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) office. If there is no ASAP office in the person's area they will need to have it signed by a State approved alcohol counseling agency.

2.  Once the application is received by ADL they will check to make sure:

  • The application is complete and all the required documents have been submitted.
  • The person has completed an approved alcohol education and rehabilitation treatment program.
  • The license has been revoked for the felony DUI or Refusal for at least 10 years.
  • You have not been convicted of a criminal offense since your license was revoked.

3.  Once DMV verifies an applicant has done everything they need to comply with the law, DMV will review the driving record and determine if the felony revocation can be modified. The DMV will send the person a document that they will have to provide to the court. The court will have to sign the form showing it agrees with the DMV’s review of the driving record. 

4.  If the court agrees with DMV, the applicant or the court will return the document to DMV at the following address:

State of Alaska
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn:  DRIVER LICENSING
1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 100
Anchorage, AK 99503-3689

DMV will then change their records to show the new revocation dates. The DMV has up to 14 days to process terminations of revocations.

5.  Once the driving record has been changed, the DMV will then send the person a letter telling them what they will need to do to reinstate their driving privileges.
If you have further questions, please call Anchorage Driver Licensing at (907) 269-3770 or via

E-mail:  DOA.DMV.ADL@Alaska.gov