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State Base Salary Session Per Diem Rate
(annual or daily
rate)

Alabama $10/day (C) $4,308/month plus $50/day for three days during each
week that the legislature actually meets during any
sesslon (U).

Alaska $50,400/year $234 /day (depending on the time of year) tied to
federal rate. Legislators who reside in the Capitol area
receive 75% of the federal rate.

Arizona $24,000/year $35/day for the 1st 120 days of regular session and
for special session and $10/day thereafter. Members
residing outside Marlcopa County receive an additicnal
$25/day for the 1st 120 days of reg. session and for
special session and an additional $10/day thereafter
(V). Set by statute.

Arkansas $15,869 /year $147/day (V) plus mileage tied to federal rate.

Californla $90,526/year $141.86/day for each day they are in session,

Colorado $30,000/year $183 for members who live more than 50 miles from

capitol, $45 for members who live 50 or fewer miles
from capitol.

http://www.ncsl.org/legislatures-elections/legisdata/2013-ncsl-legislator-salary-and-per-die...

Members are
mandatorily
required to forfeit
one day of

Connecticut $28,000/year No per diem is pald.

Delaware $44,041/year $7,334 expense allowance annually.

Florida $29,697/year $131/day earned based on the number of days In
session. Travel vouchers are filed to substantiate.

Georgia $17,341.68/year $173/day (U) set by the Legislative Services
Committee,

Hawali $46,273.00/year $175/day for members living outside Oahu during
session; $10/day for members living on Oahu during
the interim while conducting official legislative
business.

Idaho $16,438/year $122/day for members establishing second residence

: in Boise; $49/day if no second residence is established
and up to $25/day travel (V) set by Compensation
Commission.
Illinols $67,836/year $111/per session day

Page 1 of 3

NCSL tracks legislator pay including salary and per diem. For previous years' data visit NCSL's Legi
NCSL Contact: Morgan Cullen

9/10/2013



2013 NCSL Legislator Salary and Per Diem

compensation per
month

maximum of 60
days of session,

Indiana $22,616.46/year $152/day (U) tied to federal rate,
Towa $25,000/year $135/day (U). $101.25/day for Polk County legislators
(U) set by the legislature to coincide with federal rate.
State mileage rates apply.
Kansas $88.66(C) $123/day (U) tied to federal rate.
Kentucky $1,788.51 a month | $188.22/day (V) tied to federal rate {(110% Federal
per diern rate).
Louistana $16,800/year + $149/day (U) tied to federal rate (26 U.S.C, Section
additional 162(hY{(1){(B)(li})
$6,000/yr (U)
expense allowance,
Maine $13,852/year for $38/day housing, or mileage and tolls in lieu of
first regular housing (at rate of $0.44/mile up to $38/day) plus
sassion; $32/day for meals. Per diem limits are set by statute,
$9,661/year for
second regular
session.
Maryland $43,500/year Lodging $101/day; meals $42/day (tied to federal rate
and compensation commission).
Massachusetts $60,032.60/year From $10/day-$100/day, depending on distance from
State House (V) set by the legislature,
Michigan $71,685/year 410,800 yearly expense allowance for session and
interim (V) set by compensation commission.
Minnesota 4$31,140.90/year $86/per day.
Mississippi $10,000/year $123/Day.
Missouri $35,915/year $104,00/day (U) tied to federal rate. Verification of per
diem is by roll call.
Montana $82.64/day (L) 109.78/day (U).
Nebraska $12,000/year $123/day outside 50-mile radius from Capitol;
$46/day if member resides within 50 miles of Capitol
(V) tied to federal rate.
Nevada $146.29/day $152/per day.

New Hampshire

$200/two-year
term

No per diem is paid.

New Jersey $49,000/year No per diem is paid.

New Mexico None $154/day (V) tied to federal rate & the constitution.
New York $79,500/year $165/per full day and $61/per half day.

North Carolina $13,951/year $104/day (U) set by statute. $559.00/month expense

allowance.

North Dakota

+157/day during
legislative sessions
(C) and $157/day
for attending
interim committee

Lodging reimbursement up to 30 times 65 percent of
the daily ledging rate ($1,351 per month as of
8/1/2011 (V).

http://www.ncsl.org/legislatures-elections/legisdata/2013-nesl-legislator-salary-and-per-die. ..

meetings
Ohio $60,583.70/year No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma $38,400/year $147/day (U) tied to federal rate,
Oregon $22,260/year $123/day (U) tied to federal rate
Pennsylvania $83,801/year $159 per day 1/1/13 to 5/31/13 and 9/1/13. $185 per

day 6/1/13 to 8/31/13
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Rhode Island $14,639,90/year No per diem is paid.

South Carolina $10,400/year $131/day for meals and housing for each statewide
session day and committee meeting tied to federal
rate.

South Dakota $12,000/two-year $110/legislative day (U) set by the legislature,

term
Tennessee $19,009 $173/legislative day (U) tied to federal rate.
Texas $7,200/year $150/day (U) set by Ethics Commission.
Utah $273/day (C) $96/day (V) lodging allotment for each calendar day,
tied to federal rate, $61/day meals (V).
Vermont $647.12 per week 101 Ledging If you stay and 61 Meals and mileage 61
during the meals if you commute and mileage
leglsiative session
only

Virginia $18,000/year $178.00/day for Senators during 2013 session
Senate, $170/day for House Members during 2013 session.
$17,640/year
House

Washington $42,106/year $90/day

West Virginia $20,000/year $131/day during sesslon (U) set by compensation
commission,

Wisconsin $49,943/year $88/day maximum (U) set by compensation
commission (90% of federal rate). Per diem authorized
under 13.123 (1), Wis. Statutes, and Leg. Joint Rule
85. 20.916(8) State Statutes and Joint Committee on
Employment Relations (JCOER) establishes the max.
amount according to the recommendations of the
Director of the Office of State Employment Relations.
The leadership of each house then determines, within
that maximum, what amount to authorize for the
sesslon.

Wyoming $150/day during $109/day (V) set by the legislature, includes travel

session. days for those outside of Cheyenne.
(V)=vVouchered
{U)=Unvouchered
{C)=Calendar
Source: National Conference of State Legislatures
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