State of Alaska

Department of Administration

Alaska Department of Administration

State Office Closures
Options to receive
closure notifications

Statewide Toll-Free
877-326-5551 or
465-5551 (in Juneau)
for recorded alerts

Office Closure Policy and Procedures (pdf)

Welcome to the Department of Administration

Curtis Thayer, Commissioner

What we do

The Department of Administration provides centralized administrative services to state agencies in matters of finance, personnel, labor relations, leasing of space, central mail distribution, property management, risk management, procurement, retirement and benefits programs, information and telecommunication systems, and operation and maintenance of 15 state-owned buildings in Juneau, Anchorage, Palmer and Fairbanks.

The Department of Administration also provides indigent defense and children’s advocacy through the Public Defender Agency and the Office of Public Advocacy, and vehicle registration and driver licensing through the Division of Motor Vehicles, as well as a host of other services. The department has administrative responsibilities for the Alaska Public Offices Commission, Alaska Public Broadcasting, the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission and the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Visit the Divisions